Skip to main content

EKU Board of Regents Innovation Fund II

Description of the Fund:  Recognizing that Kentucky has urgent and formidable societal and economic challenges that have persisted for generations, EKU is positioned to play an important role for the economic, intellectual, and cultural vitality of our service region, the commonwealth, and our global society.  This natural purpose creates and maintains dynamic programs, provides the building blocks for the inventors of the future, and aspires to translate ideas and talents into new products, services, robust employment, and societal advancement for all.

Announced at the June 2018 Board of Regents meeting, awarded to five faculty members in February 2019, and funded again for 2019-2020, the $250,000 Board-sponsored faculty and staff innovation pool will match and seed projects designed to advance the mission of EKU and will be available to all faculty and staff.



The fund will be available to all EKU faculty and staff (including a collaboration of faculty and staff), competitively awarded and a strong preference given to applications that demonstrate an innovative or entrepreneurial solution that (i) demonstrates an ability to generate a return on investment within a reasonable period of time, (ii) demonstrate an  ability to create operating efficiency resulting in cost savings, (iii) is related to Kentucky priorities. 

These funds can be used for larger matching grants, like SBIR; research that has demonstrable commercial value, scale, and stability; research and development related to Kentucky priorities. 

Important Dates:  Applications must be submitted to the Center for Economic Development Entrepreneurship & Technology no later than 5:00pm., Friday, October 11th, 2019

Scoring: Applications will be reviewed and scored by a committee and presented to the Board of Regents for final approval. 

Approximate Award Date: Board of Regents Winter 2020 Meeting

Reimbursement Grants: Awards will be disbursed on a reimbursement basis. CEDET staff will set up appropriate billing codes after awards have been made by the Board of Regents

Committee Members:

Javier Alvarez – Letters, Arts, Social Science

Ryan Baggett – Justice & Safety

Dana Bush - Health Science

Lindsay Calderon – Science

Richard Day - Education

Bryan Makinen – Staff Representative

Beth Polin – Business & Tech

Tom Martin - CEDET


Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/